Dr. James Makokis

Indigenous Physician and Winner of The Amazing Race Canada (Season 7),

Dr. James Makokis is a proud Indigenous physician of Cree heritage from the Saddle Lake First Nation in Northern Alberta and is the winner of The Amazing Race Canada Season 7, along with his husband Anthony Johnson. James received his B.Sc. in Nutrition and Food Sciences from the University of Alberta, and an M.H.Sc. in Community Nutrition from the University of Toronto. He also holds an M.D. from the University of Ottawa. Dr. James Makokis received certification from the Aboriginal Family Medicine Training Program, University of British Columbia. As a proud member of the LGBTQ2S community, James has experienced the same bullying sexually and gender diverse youth continue to endure. Because of the support of his parents and community, he overcame these challenges to succeed beyond society’s expectations. It was through his faith in Indigenous values and culture, his connection to Cree ceremonies, and the support of the Indigenous community that helped him overcome these adversities and reclaim his space as a member of the Two-spirit Q-mmunity. Dr. Makokis has a strong interest in addressing the inequities within the LGBTQ2S space. His clinical practice focuses on serving the needs of Transgender peoples. In fact, he is one of the few physicians in Canada who facilitates the wellness of transgender people as a result of administering hormone replacement therapy. Dr. James Makokis is an active volunteer and currently serves on several boards including the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health at the University of Toronto, and McEwan University’s Indigenous Advisory Council. He was formerly the co-chair of the inaugural Indigenous Wisdom Council of Alberta Health Services, board member of Indspire (formerly the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation), revived and led the Two-Spirit Circle of Edmonton Society, and served in the Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada. James is also the recipient of the 2007 National Aboriginal Achievement Special Youth Award. This is the highest formal recognition bestowed upon an individual from Indigenous communities.